Swaddled

Dear Tristan,

you are over 6 weeks old now. You are growing so fast we can’t keep up with you and your constant change. It’s amazing to watch, you, little one, doing new things every day. I mean, not that you are doing much, but your faces! You were born already with a rich selection of funny expressions and faces, among which should be mentioned “The Frown”, “The Smirk”, and “Desperation”(I haven’t been able to take this last one in a picture yet, because my heart just melts and can’t think of anything else and I just want to comfort you), but every day you change and you make up new ones!

You are over 10 pounds now, and more chubby and taller, and now that the rash is gone you look so handsome! I don’t like to brag, but god, you are handsome! I don’t know if you’ll stay this way, but know for sure you were a super beautiful baby.

Anyway, I’ve been wanting to write for a while now, but funny enough, I couldn’t manage. Even with Nonna here, there is still so little time to do anything, and you can keep busy all three of us. Now you stay awake much more and you need to be entertained, which is not that easy considering that there is no much you can do yet.

Today was my first day back to work, and you didn’t sleep at all last night. Nonna was up at least 10 times to try and calm you down, and this morning you woke up at 5 and didn’t fall asleep anymore. I got home and she was exhausted, you were crying and couldn’t sleep for more than 20 minutes, and we didn’t know why. I nursed you and rocked you and you finally fell asleep in my arms. I ate and worked holding you and I just couldn’t let you go. Not only for fear that you would wake up again, but because it’s a strange feeling… The guilt for been gone all morning to work instead of staying with you, the fact that i was able to comfort you and put you to sleep, looking at your face so relaxed in my arms just was something too nice to let you go.

But I needed to work so I put you down and sure enough, in 10 seconds you were awake again.

So I hold you and once you were asleep I gave the swaddling a try.

IMG_4240-1You know, you were swaddled only at the hospital, and even there you didn’t like it that much. Once home, every time we tried to swaddle you we pissed you off, so we stopped. You spend half an hour pushing your legs up and farting every time before you wake up, so you didn’t like to be constricted. But today my c

oworker told me his son is sleeping 6 hours straight at night, and only because they swaddle him, in a way he can’t get free. So I did it. once you were out, I swaddled you and from 15.30 you slept all afternoon barely moving. Now it’s 18.30 and you are still sleeping. You ate at noon. That makes it 6 hours… Is swaddling the secret for a decent night sleep???

We’ll try it tonight and see how it goes.

Now I’m thinking of waking you because, believe it or not… I miss you.

Love,

Mom

 

Leave a Reply

